What Does ‘Available’ Mean?

Scott Gilman
8 min readApr 21, 2020

Trying to understand what goes into being, and becoming, emotionally available, to yourself, to someone else — and in a time of isolation.

Newly single, I wonder to myself when I’ll be ready to date again.

As I slog through the process of healing, I wonder if I can see myself being interested in women again. Or falling in love again. Or opening myself up to all that is wonderful and challenging about being in a relationship.

Will I be able to do that, and if, so how will I know when it’s time? When will I become emotionally available?

What does it even mean to be emotionally available?

And how, during a pandemic, with all its accompanying fears and anxieties, is anyone emotionally available?

To understand what emotional availability is, I tried to break down what it’s made of.

Honesty, With Yourself

Only you know how you are truly feeling. While your feelings, wants and desires, for yourself and within a relationship, will naturally change over time, you have to be able to determine what’s going on inside you.

This is more than not forcing your partner to be a mind reader, to leaving them with the impossible challenge of figuring you out. This is you doing the introspection and…

--

--

Scott Gilman

Thinking and writing about my place in the world, and making myself (and the world) a little bit better. I can be reached at scottmgilman@gmail.com.